Forgot your password?

Dark Sky Weather App

scuzzy

Administrator
Posts 10157
Report to moderator

• Forum Cop

• In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls ME.

Well, dang it. The party is over. I was using Dark Sky weather app on my Android smartphone, but Apple purchased the popular weather app back in March 2020. They were going to turn it off to Android users on July 1st, but postponed the date to August 1st. They pulled the plug yesterday and reimbursed my $2.99 subscription.

Knowing that the days were numbered, I installed Today Weather app a few weeks ago. It isn't bad, but it's not in the same league as Dark Sky. Now if I want the Dark Sky weather app it will have to be on iOS, which I will probably switch to in a few months anyway.

Scuzzy; it was a dark and gloomy night.

Bill

Universal Moderator
Posts 6830
Report to moderator

I have a paid subscription to The Weather Channel app -$9.99/yr - and it's just OK. I've tried Accuweather and quickly uninstalled.There is an Android weather app that's not to bad, I just don't remember the name and it's not on my phone any longer, but check the Play Store.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

scuzzy

Administrator
Posts 10157
Report to moderator

• Forum Cop

Unfortunately I got spoiled by Dark Sky. I searched high and low before settling on Today Weather, which probably comes closest to the Dark Sky app. Today Weather has over a dozen data sources to pick from, including Dark Sky. However, that's numbered as well until the end of next year. Besides, it's not the same as having the Dark Sky app.

I tried the Weather Channel app, but I deleted it almost as fast as I installed it.

Bill

Universal Moderator
Posts 6830
Report to moderator

i discovered, I think, the WC app is designed to be annoying to drive you to subscribe.  The paid version is acceptable.