Author Topic: network  (Read 836 times)

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
network
« on: Feb 27, 2016, 05:10 PM »
I'm having a connection problem.  Every so often the asus router is asking for password and user id and not allowing me to log into the router.  I have run Malwarebytes, and the JunkWare Removal Tool, both found nothing, rebooted and sometimes get my connect back.  But it doesn't seem to last long.  Networking is not my strongest suite.  Any thoughts?
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9284
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: network
« Reply #1 on: Feb 27, 2016, 05:50 PM »
Is the problem browser specific?

Log in to your router and click the firmware version at the top of the page. On the new page click "Check". Download and install any new version (but make sure you are on Ethernet, not wireless).

Also do a hard reboot. Unplug the router, wait one full minute, and then plug it back in.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
Re: network
« Reply #2 on: Feb 27, 2016, 06:34 PM »
Won't let me login. Not browser specific.
From phone.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9284
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: network
« Reply #3 on: Feb 27, 2016, 07:36 PM »
Have you tried the hard reboot by disconnecting power for 1 minute?

If that doesn't work, then the only remaining option I can think of is to reset the router.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
Re: network
« Reply #4 on: Feb 27, 2016, 07:47 PM »
How?
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9284
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: network
« Reply #5 on: Feb 27, 2016, 08:25 PM »
It's pretty simple. You'll find the answer here:

How to Reset the Asus TM-AC1900

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
Re: network
« Reply #6 on: Feb 28, 2016, 08:09 AM »
I haven't reset the router yet.  The last thing I did yesterday was run JRT and rebooted, and now I have access.  I had tried the power cycle twice, it had no effect.  I think I have narrowed the source of the problem to one web site, but whatever it is, it isn't visible.  I will stay off the site for a week or so  before I go back.

Thanks both of you.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
Re: network
« Reply #7 on: Feb 28, 2016, 09:35 AM »
I understand John.  The first time I ran JRT, it found a registry entry for "Distromatic", and removed it, or so it seems.  I don't know that running JRT subsequent times had any effect except that I tried Malwarebytes and rebooting and it had no effect.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
Re: network
« Reply #8 on: Feb 28, 2016, 10:10 AM »
No, I've never been there.  The site I suspect is Marketwatch dot com.  I haven't  been back since.  I did however just run ADW cleaner and it found several errant files in Chrome and a couple of others, and cleaned them all.  I ran it a second time and it came up clean.  Maybe that will be the end.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
Re: network
« Reply #9 on: Feb 28, 2016, 10:34 AM »
This ASUS router is almost brand new,  I'm not ready to do a firmware check yet.  I'm going to wait to see if AWD cleaner solved the problem.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9284
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: network
« Reply #10 on: Feb 28, 2016, 11:35 AM »
I normally keep my router firmware updated as much as possible, as new firmware often includes security updates. Even when I get a brand new router, the first thing I do is upgrade the firmware.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
Re: network
« Reply #11 on: Feb 28, 2016, 12:14 PM »
I will probably do that too, but not yet.  I want to be certain this problem is over first.  But thanks for the advice.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit