Author Topic: Can I add multiple monitor to a single computer?  (Read 494 times)

Offline seriousdamage

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 167
Can I add multiple monitor to a single computer?
« on: Oct 19, 2016, 02:28 PM »
Hey guys,

hope you are doing well, I was reading a blog post of a stock trader, he runs his set up with about 8 monitors,
he was saying that basically he does not use more than a laptop, all monitors are HDMI and he has a USB hub
with USB to HDMI adapter. Can this really work? Can you attach a monitor to the USB port with an adapter?

Thanks a lot
Nic
Windows 7 Home Professional (x64) Service Pack 1, Asus P8Z77-V, Intel Core I7 3770K 3.50 Ghz, 16 GB, PC3-memory, Asus Radeon HD 7970, Samsung 840 Pro Series 256 GB, S-ATA III.

Offline seriousdamage

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 167
Re: Can I add multiple monitor to a single computer?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 19, 2016, 03:03 PM »
I wish I had known this, I needed a computer to run 4 monitors, the computer only runs one small light program but requires 4 monitors for my flight simulator,
I went crazy with the shop working on the 2 correct graphic cards when I could have only used a a couple of adapters.

Well I guess we are still learning :-)

Thanks a lot for the reply.
Windows 7 Home Professional (x64) Service Pack 1, Asus P8Z77-V, Intel Core I7 3770K 3.50 Ghz, 16 GB, PC3-memory, Asus Radeon HD 7970, Samsung 840 Pro Series 256 GB, S-ATA III.

Offline seriousdamage

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 167
Re: Can I add multiple monitor to a single computer?
« Reply #2 on: Oct 20, 2016, 01:31 AM »
The setup for my sim is finished, at one point I was running 9 monitors out of 2 PC and a laptop all networked,
now I cut 3 monitors and replaced them woth one projector.

But the idea of the monitors connected to a USB port sounds cool, this way the graphic card wouldn't play
a role in the setup while you can have many monitors as long as you have a USB port. Even if technologically speaking
I still don't understand how it can work via USB...  ???
Windows 7 Home Professional (x64) Service Pack 1, Asus P8Z77-V, Intel Core I7 3770K 3.50 Ghz, 16 GB, PC3-memory, Asus Radeon HD 7970, Samsung 840 Pro Series 256 GB, S-ATA III.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
Re: Can I add multiple monitor to a single computer?
« Reply #3 on: Oct 20, 2016, 10:20 AM »
Hi Nic,  I don't understand it either.  Could you poast a link to the blog?  I'd like to read the description of the trader's system.
Thanks.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline seriousdamage

  • Poaster
  • **
  • Posts: 167
Re: Can I add multiple monitor to a single computer?
« Reply #4 on: Oct 20, 2016, 02:55 PM »
Hi Bill, here it is,
https://www.warriortrading.com/multi-montior-day-trading-work-station/

He uses this stuff:
https://www.amazon.com/Diamond-Multimedia-BVU3500-2048x1152-DisplayLink/dp/B00KB5IHGS

I believe that they are not just adapters but a bit more than that :-)
Windows 7 Home Professional (x64) Service Pack 1, Asus P8Z77-V, Intel Core I7 3770K 3.50 Ghz, 16 GB, PC3-memory, Asus Radeon HD 7970, Samsung 840 Pro Series 256 GB, S-ATA III.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6035
Re: Can I add multiple monitor to a single computer?
« Reply #5 on: Oct 20, 2016, 03:45 PM »
Thank Nic, I appreciate it.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit