Author Topic: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)  (Read 447 times)

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9492
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« on: Nov 15, 2018, 03:51 PM »
For sometime I've been using an ASUS RT-N66R (Dark Knight) router. It gets the job done, but the signal is very weak on the far edge of my bedroom, and is nonexistent in some areas of the basement. I still have a T-Mobile provided ASUS TM-AC1900 CellSpot router, which is essentially an ASUS AC1900 router with T-Mo's firmware installed. It worked very well for some time, but something changed with my ISP and it no longer recognizes the T-Mo branded router. Anymore it's just a big brick.

Newegg had a Black Friday Preview special going on today, so I nabbed a retail ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U) for $99.99 total. I placed an order and the new router should arrive Friday next week. This router supports AiMesh, which connects ASUS routers to create a mesh WiFi signal within the home. At a later date I'll pick up another AiMesh enabled router to mate with this one. Unfortunately, Newegg is only allowing one router at the sale price. For now, if the new router covers my house as well as the TM-AC1900 did, it will be an improvement.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #1 on: Nov 16, 2018, 11:03 AM »
That ASUS router is what I have and it produces a very strong signal.  I'm sure you will be happy with it.

Edit: At least let me say mine has the same product number.  I don't recall the "Mesh" technology information being there when I bought it in November 2017.  Yours maybe a new model with the same name.
« Last Edit: Nov 16, 2018, 11:28 AM by Bill »
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9492
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #2 on: Nov 16, 2018, 04:56 PM »
You do have AiMesh available, but only if you've updated the firmware.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #3 on: Nov 17, 2018, 10:55 AM »
I have done the update for the router.  But if I have it now, it's not something I need.  The house is not big enough, or the barriers are not significant.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9492
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #4 on: Nov 17, 2018, 11:26 AM »
If this same house was being built today, I would do Ethernet wiring and placements differently. For that matter, I would do a lot of things differently regarding this house. Fifteen years ago I just didn't realize how important all of this would be. I could still do it now, but the difficulty and expense would be high. It's much easier for me to go with a mesh network, and probably just as effective.

Somewhere down the road I may come up with a permanent solution, but technology will change anyway.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #5 on: Nov 17, 2018, 02:26 PM »
Talk about changing technology.  The  man that built this house 11 years ago wired phone cable and coax to every room in the house and in a couple of cases two outlets in a room.  Now I'm not using any of them.
« Last Edit: Nov 17, 2018, 02:43 PM by Bill »
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9492
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #6 on: Nov 21, 2018, 07:11 PM »
The new router arrived today ahead of schedule. I hooked it up and restored the settings from the old ASUS router. All of the old settings imported beautifully on the first attempt. Next I called Rise Broadband to register the router so I could get an internet connection back. I spent about 20 mins on hold before getting a tech on the line. Within 5 minutes the tech updated my account to recognize the new router.

Once the internet connection was established, I immediately downloaded and installed the latest firmware. Within 10 minutes I was back in business.

I ran through some quick checks to make sure all was working properly. My internet speeds were as high as 27.27Mbps on a 25Mbps plan. Multiple checks showed a consistently fast connection. Next I took my smartphone to the far edge of my bedroom, where I previously had a very low Wi-Fi signal. Now the signal is maxed out at 5 bars, and the Wi-Fi data connection is strong. I have not yet ventured into the basement to check connections. Since my daughter recently vacated the bedroom on the far end of the basement, I'm in no hurry to check.

We'll see how things work out over the next few days and weeks, but so far the new router is off to a very good start.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #7 on: Nov 22, 2018, 11:20 AM »
Sounds like you may not need the second one.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9492
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #8 on: Nov 22, 2018, 02:16 PM »
Yeah, it's looking pretty good all by itself so far.

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9492
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #9 on: Jun 26, 2019, 09:55 PM »
My ASUS AC1900 gave up the ghost. I had to put the ASUS RT-N66R back into service today.

I was without internet for a couple days, led to believe it was an ISP issue when I first called tech support. A recorded message said that service was down in my area and that they were working on it. I called again today and got the same recorded message, but this time I requested tech support to find out how much longer we'd be without service. Turns out that the network issue was already fixed, but they left the recording up.

After several attempts with tech support, they finally determined that the problem was my router. I brought out the old ASUS, and sure enough that fixed it. The AC1900 no longer recognizes the Ethernet cable that feeds the internet into the data port.

Now I have to go through ASUS's famously worthless tech support to get the router replaced.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #10 on: Jun 27, 2019, 08:34 AM »
That's too bad. What would cause a "static" -no moving parts- to die?  A faulty transistor?  Guess it really doesn't matter, dead is dead.
According to the Newegg site, the limited warranty period is 2 years. Good luck!
« Last Edit: Jun 27, 2019, 09:29 AM by Bill »
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9492
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #11 on: Jul 08, 2019, 03:37 PM »
I decided to keep the broken router. I have been wanting to set up a mesh network in my home, which would require that I have two ASUS mesh-enabled routers. My current AC1900 won't read the incoming Ethernet cable, but the wireless functions (coming and going) remain intact, which means it can still function as a mesh or as a repeater.

Since I don't have a 2nd mesh router, I set up the hobbled AC1900 last night as a repeater. I placed it in a central location in the house, where it can still pick up a strong signal from the main router (currently my old RT-N66R N900). Setting it up as a wireless repeater was straight forward.

By connecting my smartphone to the AC1900's SSID, I get a fairly solid signal through most of the house. I connected my theater TV to the repeater as well, and it now gets a solid and consistent signal. Coverage in my bedroom is first rate, as is in the basement at the far end of the house furthest from my main router.

I will order a second AC1900 when I have some spare change (or when a good sale comes along), and I will set up the new AC1900 as my main router. My handicapped AC1900 will then be able to function as a mesh router. This will give me seamless coverage throughout the entire house without having to switch SSIDs. At the moment I have to be logged in to either the main router's SSID, or to the repeater's SSID. A mesh network resolves that issue.

Since a mesh network would effectively eliminate my home's dead spots, I may just run with this for my main router and save some cash: ASUS RT-AC66U AC1750

The AC1750 is just a tad slower than the AC1900, but is much faster than my old RT-N66R.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #12 on: Jul 09, 2019, 08:43 AM »
Looks like the 1900 is on sale on Amazon for $77 Prime.  I just checked again and can't find the sale I thought I saw.
Amazon is now showing $135 +/-.

« Last Edit: Jul 09, 2019, 09:15 AM by Bill »
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9492
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #13 on: Jul 09, 2019, 08:48 AM »
The only ASUS AC1900 router I'm finding in that price range ($69.89) is the T-Mobile model. I already know that router will not work with my ISP, and it will not support AiMesh.
Did you find a renewed model, or maybe something else?

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #14 on: Jul 09, 2019, 06:04 PM »
I don't know, I can't find it again.  Maybe just an anomaly on the interweb.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #15 on: Jul 10, 2019, 11:42 AM »
Amazon is showing a renewed 1900 for $87.99 - 12:40 pm Wednesday 7/10.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline carskick

  • xTreme Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2781
  • Shelby, a cat who has now passed.
    • Neighborhood Computer Supprt
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #16 on: Aug 06, 2019, 04:18 PM »
Hey guys!

I second Scuzzy. I actually had the RT-N66U for a few years, but it started randomly rebooting once a day. I too picked up the ASUS RT-AC68U, and it is a fantastic improvement. Primarily, the wireless range and speeds. I get 400mbps on my Google Pixel 3, even one room over. It seems to handle heavy traffic far better than the old N66 as well, probably due to faster processing.

Anyways, it's a great router, but don't pay more than $150 for it, I see some crazy prices on them...
Current Main PC:
Intel i5-8400 | MSI Z370 | G.Skill 16GB DDR4-2933 | eVGA GTX 1070 8GB | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD | Micron 1100 2TB SSD | Toshiba 5TB HDD | Seasonic Gold 750 Watt | Antec 900 Case | CM 212 Cooler | Sound Blaster Z | Pixo PX275H Primary Monitor

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #17 on: Aug 06, 2019, 06:14 PM »
I'd agree, I have the AC68U and it's generally been great.  It occasionally requires a reboot along with the FIOS modem and the TV, but I have very good signal strength.,
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9492
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #18 on: Aug 07, 2019, 12:27 PM »
I ended up keeping my RT-AC68U as a repeater, and it has worked perfectly. I wanted to go with a MESH network for the seamless hand-off as I move throughout the house, but I no longer see the need. My trusty RT-N66U is chugging along and doing a very good job, so I see no reason to mess with what's working.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6258
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #19 on: Aug 07, 2019, 12:36 PM »
If it ain't broke........
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit