Author Topic: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)  (Read 80 times)

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9180
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« on: Nov 15, 2018, 03:51 PM »
For sometime I've been using an ASUS RT-N66R (Dark Knight) router. It gets the job done, but the signal is very weak on the far edge of my bedroom, and is nonexistent in some areas of the basement. I still have a T-Mobile provided ASUS TM-AC1900 CellSpot router, which is essentially an ASUS AC1900 router with T-Mo's firmware installed. It worked very well for some time, but something changed with my ISP and it no longer recognizes the T-Mo branded router. Anymore it's just a big brick.

Newegg had a Black Friday Preview special going on today, so I nabbed a retail ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U) for $99.99 total. I placed an order and the new router should arrive Friday next week. This router supports AiMesh, which connects ASUS routers to create a mesh WiFi signal within the home. At a later date I'll pick up another AiMesh enabled router to mate with this one. Unfortunately, Newegg is only allowing one router at the sale price. For now, if the new router covers my house as well as the TM-AC1900 did, it will be an improvement.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5922
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #1 on: Nov 16, 2018, 11:03 AM »
That ASUS router is what I have and it produces a very strong signal.  I'm sure you will be happy with it.

Edit: At least let me say mine has the same product number.  I don't recall the "Mesh" technology information being there when I bought it in November 2017.  Yours maybe a new model with the same name.
« Last Edit: Nov 16, 2018, 11:28 AM by Bill »
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9180
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #2 on: Nov 16, 2018, 04:56 PM »
You do have AiMesh available, but only if you've updated the firmware.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5922
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #3 on: Nov 17, 2018, 10:55 AM »
I have done the update for the router.  But if I have it now, it's not something I need.  The house is not big enough, or the barriers are not significant.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9180
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #4 on: Nov 17, 2018, 11:26 AM »
If this same house was being built today, I would do Ethernet wiring and placements differently. For that matter, I would do a lot of things differently regarding this house. Fifteen years ago I just didn't realize how important all of this would be. I could still do it now, but the difficulty and expense would be high. It's much easier for me to go with a mesh network, and probably just as effective.

Somewhere down the road I may come up with a permanent solution, but technology will change anyway.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5922
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #5 on: Nov 17, 2018, 02:26 PM »
Talk about changing technology.  The  man that built this house 11 years ago wired phone cable and coax to every room in the house and in a couple of cases two outlets in a room.  Now I'm not using any of them.
« Last Edit: Nov 17, 2018, 02:43 PM by Bill »
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9180
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #6 on: Nov 21, 2018, 07:11 PM »
The new router arrived today ahead of schedule. I hooked it up and restored the settings from the old ASUS router. All of the old settings imported beautifully on the first attempt. Next I called Rise Broadband to register the router so I could get an internet connection back. I spent about 20 mins on hold before getting a tech on the line. Within 5 minutes the tech updated my account to recognize the new router.

Once the internet connection was established, I immediately downloaded and installed the latest firmware. Within 10 minutes I was back in business.

I ran through some quick checks to make sure all was working properly. My internet speeds were as high as 27.27Mbps on a 25Mbps plan. Multiple checks showed a consistently fast connection. Next I took my smartphone to the far edge of my bedroom, where I previously had a very low Wi-Fi signal. Now the signal is maxed out at 5 bars, and the Wi-Fi data connection is strong. I have not yet ventured into the basement to check connections. Since my daughter recently vacated the bedroom on the far end of the basement, I'm in no hurry to check.

We'll see how things work out over the next few days and weeks, but so far the new router is off to a very good start.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5922
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #7 on: Nov 22, 2018, 11:20 AM »
Sounds like you may not need the second one.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9180
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: ASUS AC1900 (RT-AC68U)
« Reply #8 on: Nov 22, 2018, 02:16 PM »
Yeah, it's looking pretty good all by itself so far.