Author Topic: wi-fi  (Read 142 times)

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
wi-fi
« on: Aug 29, 2019, 03:57 PM »
Last night I was struggling, again, with streaming speed with both Netflix and Prime.  One of the suggested "adjustments" was to change channel on the ASUS router.  If I'm understanding this, I am presently using 11 although I don't know why.  The article said 1, 6, and 10 are common in the US, higher numbers in Europe.  Also the comment was made that after changing channels a reboot of the wireless devices is necessary.
My router is presently set for Auto Select.
The other suggestion is to add a 2nd router.  I have my older Netgear but it seems both have to use the same IP or something to that effect.

This afternoon I rebooted the STB, the TV, the FIOS modem and my router.  If I have this speed difficulty again tonight I'm going to be looking for a better solution.  Jusy FYI my speeds are 50 ish, up and down.  I hadn't thought to run a speed test last night but I will if it pops up again.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9522
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #1 on: Aug 29, 2019, 07:46 PM »
I just took a look at my router, and the channel set to Auto. To my knowledge, it works fine as is. As small as your home is, I'm not sure what the advantage would be of setting up a 2nd router. Your AC1900 should be able to handle everything just fine on its own.

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #2 on: Aug 30, 2019, 08:21 AM »
That's what I've thought all along.  Last night I no difficulty at all, Netflix or Prime. Guess I'll just put up with the off nights. 
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #3 on: Oct 03, 2019, 08:50 AM »
Update: the last three days I have rebooted the router 3 times.  No difficulty streaming last night but having to do this even every other day is a PITA.
Thinking about upgrading the router I looked at ASUS and saw prices I couldn't believe, $ 300, 400 and more.  Netgear prices are more like $100 - 150 and I have to wonder why the big differences and what to do next.
You have any suggestions or thoughts?
BTW rebooting the router alone, not the  modem, solves the problem so I doubt the ISP would be of much help, except of course to rent me a different router!
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #4 on: Oct 03, 2019, 02:56 PM »
I have now also upped the bandwidth. For the 2.4 Hz freq. it was set for 20/40.  It is now set for 40 only.  The Sony TV, I'm told, does "better" on the 2.4 vs. 5 g network.  I tried the TV and it appeared to be re-logging into the router, but all seemed fine when finished.  I will try it more tonight.
I feel like I'm swimming here with only my nose above water!

Edit: last night all worked well.  I think if I can go 4-5 nights w/o any difficulty I found the answer.
« Last Edit: Oct 04, 2019, 07:17 PM by Bill »
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #5 on: Oct 05, 2019, 08:10 AM »
I spoke too soon. Last night the TV on Netflix wouldn't stream.  I rebooted the router again and all was fine.  I think the router needs to be replaced. I have an old Netgear something and if I can find the router info on my computer I am going to switch.  Failing there I will be in the market for another. Based on my earlier exploration that seems to be an expensive crap shoot.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9522
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #6 on: Oct 05, 2019, 10:03 AM »
Before giving up on the router, I suggest that you do a 30/30/30 factory reset. It may very well resolve the issues you're having. Worse case scenario is that you continue to have problems and you'll still have to replace it.

I also suggest trying the factory presets for a few days (aside from the SSID/Password).

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #7 on: Oct 05, 2019, 10:06 AM »
I can try the presets for today, new one arrives tomorrow.
  Worse case I can link them, probably overkill.
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit

Offline scuzzy

  • Forum Cop
  • Administrator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9522
  • In an emergency, 9-1-1 calls me.
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #8 on: Oct 05, 2019, 10:08 AM »
Can't hurt to link them for fun, but you're right... probably overkill. Lol. I know I wouldn't mind trying a mesh configuration in my oversized house.

Offline carskick

  • xTreme Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2782
  • Shelby, a cat who has now passed.
    • Neighborhood Computer Supprt
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #9 on: Oct 08, 2019, 12:26 AM »
There's an android app called Wifi Analyzer. It's great for determining which Wi-Fi channels have the least local traffic in various parts of the house.

You could open up command prompt and type "ping google.com /t" without the quotes. It'll constantly ping google through your wi-fi, so you can see if your getting any packet loss or slow downs in real time. If it's fine, and your getting 50/50 on your speed test, then it's probably not your wi-fi signal.
Current Main PC:
Intel i5-8400 | MSI Z370 | G.Skill 16GB DDR4-2933 | eVGA GTX 1070 8GB | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD | Micron 1100 2TB SSD | Toshiba 5TB HDD | Seasonic Gold 750 Watt | Antec 900 Case | CM 212 Cooler | Sound Blaster Z | Pixo PX275H Primary Monitor

Offline Bill

  • Universal Moderator
  • xTreme Super Poaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
Re: wi-fi
« Reply #10 on: Oct 08, 2019, 08:12 AM »
Wifi Analyzer is a feature on the Router and allows me to check on every device connected in the network  Last night's NetFlix and Prime connections were terrific, almost instantaneous. I hope it stays that way. 
Fractal Design R5 | Asus  Z170 Pro | Intel i5 6600k | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaws  DDR4 2133 | Seasonic 650w PSU | eVGA GTX 550 TI | Samsung 960 M2 500 GB | Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB | ASUS Burner | Windows 7 64-bit